Skip to content


Stephanie Mitchell Wins Dissertation Fellowship

Congratulations to Stephanie Mitchell (Carlson group), who received a Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship, which is given to “the University’s most accomplished Ph.D. candidates” by the University of Minnesota! Read a News Release featuring Stephanie here.

Two UMN Undergrads Awarded Fellowships

Two Haynes group undergraduate researchers were recognized by the Department of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota this Spring (see the news release for department awards here). Meghan Cahill (left) was awarded the 2019 Lloyd W. Goerke scholarship, which recognizes a junior chemistry majors who has shown outstanding academic achievement. Elaine Kappel (right) was chosen for the 2019 Robert C. Brasted Memorial Fellowship, which is awarded to a junior who has expressed an interest in a teaching career in chemistry. Additionally, both Meghan and Elaine were among 10 chemistry students who received Summer Research Fellowships. Congratulations Meghan and Elaine!

CSN Students and Staff Win UW-Madison Chemistry Awards

Several CSN participants received recognition from the UW-Madison Department of Chemistry this Spring. Liz Laudadio (Hamers group, top left) was chosen for the John and Beverly Schrag Analytical Chemistry Outstanding Peer Award, which celebrates a grad student “committed to pursuing excellence in teaching/mentorship, leadership, scientific excellence, and community building.” Kelly Zhang (Hamers group, top middle) and Liz Laudadio each received a Michael W. McCoy Memorial Scholarship (for grad students who “exemplify a love of life, love of people, and love of chemistry”). Finally, Managing Director Mike Schwartz (far right) received a 2019 Graduate Student Faculty Liaison Committee (GSFLC) Mentor Award “to recognize graduate students, postdocs, and academic staff/faculty who have had a profound positive impact on the graduate students of… Read More »CSN Students and Staff Win UW-Madison Chemistry Awards

Christy Haynes Wins Theophilus Redwood Award

CSN faculty member Christy Haynes has won the Theophilus Redwood Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry “for interdisciplinary work at the interface of analytical, biological, and materials chemistry and skills for passionately and effectively communicating science to broad audiences.” Christy was featured by the Royal Society here, and in a University of Minnesota press release here.

Diamond Jones Wins Conference Fellowship

CSN graduate student Diamond Jones (Mason group) has been awarded a Carl Storm Underrepresented Minority (CSURM) Fellowship to support her participation in the 2019 Environmental Nanotechnology Gordon Research Conference. Congratulations, Diamond!

Becky Curtis & Eric Ostovich Win Poster Awards

Congratulations to CSN grad students Becky Curtis (left) and Eric Ostovich (right), both from the lab of Rebecca Klaper at UW-Milwaukee, who won awards for their research presentation posters at the Midwest Society for Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry meeting in LaCrosse last week! Becky won the “best poster presentation” award for her poster titled “Next-generation battery cathode material lithium cobalt oxide (LCO) nanosheets and metabolomic impacts to freshwater crustacean Daphnia magna.” Eric won “runner-up” for his poster “Developing an in vitro model from Daphnia magna to evaluate the molecular Interactions of nanoparticles.”

Grad Student Natalie Hudson-Smith Wins Thesis Research Travel Grant

CSN graduate student Natalie Hudson-Smith has won one a 2019 Thesis Research Travel Grant from the University of Minnesota.This grant will help support Natalie’s stay in Valencia, Spain to do CSN-related protein corona studies central to Associate Director Christy Haynes’ sabbatical research. ¡Felicitaciones!

Cathy Murphy Wins Remsen Award

CSN faculty member Cathy Murphy has been announced as the recipient of the 2019 Remsen Award, which is granted by the American Chemical Society Maryland Section. Dr. Murphy will present the Remsen Lecture on May 30 at the 47th Middle Atlantic Regional Meeting at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. Congratulations, Cathy!

Undergrad Andy Bei Wins AIChE Poster Award

Ronghua (Andy) Bei, who participated in the CSN Research Experience for Undergraduates program last summer, has won second place in the Materials Engineering and Sciences IX section of the student poster competition at AIChE, the Global Conference for Chemical Engineering. Andy’s poster was “A Computational Study of the Coverage of Poly(oxonorbornenes) and O-(2-carboxyethyl)-O′-(2-mercaptoethyl)heptaethylene Glycols on Gold Nanoparticles,” based on work he did in the lab of Professor Rigoberto Hernandez at Johns Hopkins University, in collaboration with postdoctoral researcher Dr. Ali Rahnamoun.